Police Department

The mission of the Watkinsville Police Department is to provide an exceptional level of protection to the City. Our responsibilities include enforcing traffic and criminal laws within the City limits while understanding the public’s interest is for the delivery of these services to be community-oriented; thus, providing for a balanced approach to law enforcement. Our officers embrace the idea that we work for, and with, the people of this great City and together we can make our community the best place in Georgia to live, work, play, and retire. 

IMG_3778 cropped

Courtney Gale

Police Chief

cgale@cityofwatkinsville.com
Phone: 706-769-7891

Address:
191 VFW Drive
P.O. Box 27
Watkinsville, Georgia  30677

Education: University of Georgia (Master of Public Administration), University of Georgia (Bachelor of Science) 

Professional Experience: Gale has served as a uniformed officer with increasing responsibilities since 1998, first as an officer for Athens Clarke County, Georgia Police Department (1998-2017), then for the University of Georgia Police Department from 2017-2021, and finally serving as chief in Thomson starting in July of 2021. She brings a wide variety of law enforcement experience, including roles as an investigator and overseeing downtown Athens operations for two years for ACCPD.  She then served as a lieutenant at the UGA police department where she was shift commander for patrol operations over 16 officers, including work as a team leader for UGA football events, creation of the UGAPD Peer Support Team and as co-commander for the UGAPD Crisis Negotiation Team. 

Her experience culminated in Thomson where she oversaw 18 uniformed officers and two civilian roles. In Thomson, Chief Gale led a police department that served a population of 6,900 and facilitated a variety of community events and policing strategies, including parades, festivals, Christmas events, community mentoring, and more. She also revised and updated all department policies to ensure agency compliance with federal, state, and local laws. Her duties also included securing grants, fleet management and acquisition, vetting and employing new hires, and overall leadership for the department. 


Hibler_Flag (003)Kyle Hibler

Sergeant

khibler@cityofwatkinsville.com
Phone: 706-769-7891




Wade_Flag (003)Lawrence Wade

Sergeant

lwade@cityofwatkinsville.com
Phone: 706-769-7891




A. KrishAllan Krish

Officer

akrish@cityofwatkinsville.com
Phone: 706-769-7891




E. KrishElena Krish

Officer

ekrish@cityofwatkinsville.com
Phone: 706-769-7891




R. Anglin

Ryan Anglin

Officer

ranglin@cityofwatkinsville.com
Phone: 706-769-7891




Rachel

Rachel Stearns

Officer

rstearns@cityofwatkinsville.com
Phone: 706-769-7891




Walker

Tristan Walker

Officer

twalker@cityofwatkinsville.com
Phone: 706-769-7891